Submission Open for International New Talent Competition of 2020 Taipei Film Festival

The 22nd Taipei Film Festival will take place from June 25 to July 11, 2020. Submission for its “International New Talent Competition” seeking emerging cinema talents around the world is open from January 15 to April 1. Films meeting its criteria are welcomed to make Taipei Film Festival their premiere occasions, connecting with audience from here to the world. Submission details are available at https://www.taipeiff.taipei/intc.aspx.
“International New Talent Competition” is Taiwan’s only international competition aimed at debut and second feature films (above 70 minutes) by emerging filmmakers. The competition selects 10 to 12 films per year, focusing on the potential of emerging directors in their structuring, storytelling, grasp of themes, and aesthetic style. In addition to Grand Prize (about USD 200,000) and Special Jury Prize (about USD 100,000) selected by 5 juries, the competition also includes Audience Choice Award and Taiwan Film Critics Association Award. Taipei Film Festival will also invite representatives of all the selected films to Taipei and exchange with audience in Taiwan.
Many well renowned directors with unique styles in the international filmdom emerged from “International New Talent Competition”, like Marielle Heller who recently launched A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood featuring Tom Hanks, Oliver Laxe who won Jury Prize of “Un Certain Regard” at 2019 Cannes Film Festival with Fire Will Come, and Taika Waititi who won People's Choice Award at 2019 Toronto International Film Festival with Jojo Rabbit have their debut films selected into the Competition. Besides, in its 2019 version, the Grand Prize-winning filmSystem Crasher, and selected filmsThe Chambermaid and Being Impossible respectively represented Germany, Mexico and Venezuela to compete for Academy Award for Best International Feature Film, proving the Competition an important window introducing international new filmmakers.
To select films with high potential and innovative audacity, “International New Talent Competition” introduces diverse perspectives of juries from various cultural backgrounds. Jury members of the Competition have included Tran Anh Hung (winner of Golden Lion at Venice Film Festival), Ruben Östlund (winner of Palme d'Or at Cannes Film Festival), Hamaguchi Ryusuke (director of Asako I & II selected to compete for Palme d'Or at 2018 Cannes Film Festival), Pema Tseden (Best Director of Golden Horse Awards) and renowned Japanese director Yamashita Nobuhiro, who jointly picked out new stars of tomorrow’s film world.
The number of entries to “International New Talent Competition” has risen since its inauguration in 2005. In 2019, more than 610 films internationally joined the competition. For its 2020 version, the submission deadline is April 1, the shortlist will be announced in mid-May, and the winners list will be revealed at the awards ceremony taking place on June 30.